As I reminisced in a prior entry (03/01/2010), I grew up in the 1950s in the small town of Spencer, Iowa. I often think of our Main Street with it's surprising number of diners, bars, pool halls, stores, and numerous other businesses that were a part of mid-century mid-America.

Spencer was a self-contained bustling little burg located in the northwest corner of Iowa, near such “major metropolitan areas” as Milford, Fostoria, and Lake Okoboji. It was a microcosm of the big cities. We had everything anyone could possibly want, just not in the quantity available in the metropolises. And for a kid like me, the scale of the place was pure perfection. It was a fun ride while it lasted.

In the brilliant Barry Levinson film “Avalon,” the lead character, Sam Krichinsky, laments “If I knew things would no longer be, I would have tried to remember better.”

Today my brother Toby jarred my own memory by sending me a disc full of  mid-1950s images from our home town of Spencer, and I have posted a few of these wonderful photos above (click on any photo to enlarge). Thanks for the memories, bro. 
3/23/2012 12:55:59 pm

Nice one info, thanks

Reply
Everett
4/3/2012 05:21:54 pm

Your entry about Spencer is of special interest to me. My father came to Spencer from Cleveland in 1949, and worked at the Medlar Studio on W 4th. He met my mother, who was a waitress at the Hob Nob Cafe in the old Hotel Tangney in 1960, getting married in 1961. Moved to a house on 7th Avenue West in 1963, I came along in 1964, and we moved to Des Moines in 1967. The three pictures are right in that time period. Not sure exactly what year they were taken, but before he got married, he lived in an apt around the corner on Grand next to the Farmers Bank from about 1956-61. I came to Spencer regularly while I was growing up, and now I try to get back there whenever I can.
By chance, would you have more photos of Spencer from that time?
Thanks,
Everett

Reply
6/23/2012 03:49:01 am

First time here at your blog and wanted to say hi.

Reply
Lou
11/5/2012 09:14:50 am

Love the pics. Any chance you have a pic of the old Schnorr Motors dealership over on Grand Ave. They sold Cadillacs and Pontiacs back in the 50's ?

Reply
Jerry Alspach
4/19/2015 12:05:44 am

I'm thinking it was called Jerry's Hob Nob. I have many old advertising items from Spencer for show only. Schnorr motors sold out to Lee Holt.

Reply
ruth(thompson)yordy
11/14/2019 08:54:11 am

would love to join your web site..father owned Champion Thompson

Reply

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.